PHL and PNE Recognize Current and Retired Employees

On December 7, the City of Philadelphia’s Division of Aviation held its annual employee recognition event, honoring Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and Northeast Philadelphia Airport (PNE) staff that celebrated 15, 25 and 35 years of service with the city or retired from the Division of Aviation during 2021. This year marked the second time PHL and PNE event virtually.

Contracts Audit Supervisor Janice Mirarchi joined PHL in 1986 -- back when shoulder pads and big hair were popular. “I was 22-years old. I never expected to be here this long - 30 was old!,” she said. “But it turned out to be the best thing for me and my family. I made lifelong friendships.”

Departmental Procurement Specialist and 25-year honoree Yolanda Parks also reflected on her time with the City and PHL. “Landing here at PHL has been a pleasant ride,” she said. “What I have enjoyed and appreciated the most is the professionalism I have encountered and the overall spirit, integrity, and morale that PHL has invested and implemented towards employees, passengers and stakeholders.”   

Communication Center Manager Louis Poinson celebrated 15 years at PHL in 2021. “I am thankful to belong to an organization whose leadership team has provided me with opportunities for advancement and self-development, and always valued my contributions,” he said.   

Employees who were recognized for their milestones:  

35 Years of Service:   

  • Janice Mirarchi - Contracts Audit Supervisor 

25 Years of Service:  

  • Tamika Davis – Recycling Coordinator  
  • Charles Fuller – Security Officer I  
  • Desarie Hammond Jones - Administrative Specialist II  
  • Crystal Mayer – Clerk 3  
  • Glenn Miller – Electronic Technician  
  • Virna Mitchell – Administrative Services Supervisor  
  • Mark Nichols – Electronic Technician   
  • Candace Pankey – Administrative Assistant  
  • Yolanda Parks - Departmental Procurement Specialist 
  • Harry Robinson – Security Officer I  

15 Years of Service:  

  • Mohammed Ansari – Airport Operations Officer  
  • Nicholas Antonelli – Industrial Electrician  
  • Roland Arrington – Window Washer  
  • Keron Booth – Custodial Work Supervisor 2 
  • Gordon Boyd Sr - Custodial Worker  
  • Michael Brice – Custodial Work Crew Chief  
  • Clarence Brown – Industrial Electrician 2  
  • Jason Caffarella – Painter 2  
  • Brandon Cormier – Equipment Operator 2  
  • Joy Faust – Semi-Skilled Laborer  
  • Simon Gholson – Heavy Equipment Operator 2  
  • Rhonda King - Custodial Worker 2 
  • Janaire Marshall  - Semi-Skilled Laborer  
  • Charles Martin - Custodial Worker 2 
  • Lonnie McPherson - Electronic Technician 
  • Raymond Montague - Painter 2 
  • Mark A. Nichols - Custodial Work Supervisor 2  
  • Elaine Perez – Administrative Technician  
  • Louis Poinson - Communication Center Manager 
  • Vincent Purnell – Custodial Worker  
  • James Reed – Equipment Operator II  
  • Regina Smith - Custodial Worker 2 
  • Eman Starks – Stores Worker  
  • Tamara Whitfield – Acting Human Resources Manager  

The event also gave the Division of Aviation the opportunity to bid farewell to the 85 employees who retired in 2021.   

“Due to the pandemic, departments were not able to host their typical send-offs for retirees,” said Chief Administrative Officer Delicsha Wilds. “We invited the retirees to acknowledge their service and to recognize their importance to the airport community to celebrate them.”  

The Division of Aviation also recognized nine employees with 2021 P.R.I.D.E. Awards for exemplifying the airport’s core values. P.R.I.D.E. stands for:  

  • People First – A reliable go-to person  
  • Respect – Shows unconditional regard for others and their point of view 
  • Integrity – Displays honesty is credible and trustworthy  
  • Diversity – A champion for rights and promotes respect for all  
  • Excellence – Displays excellent performance individually and in teams to achieve airport mission  

P.R.I.D.E honorees were: 

  • Ashlee Franklin, HR  
  • John Glass, Operations 
  • Louis Poinson, Communications Center
  • David Rosenblum, Communications
  • Azure Rucker, Communications  
  • Ron Smith, Maintenance  
  • Tracey Smith, Safety  
  • Jonathan Todd, Workforce Development
  • Valerie Wallace-Scott, Operations 

Congratulations to all past and present Division of Aviation employees!


Media Contacts

Heather Redfern
Public Affairs Manager
[email protected]

Social Links

Twitter Logo FaceBook Logo Flickr Logo Instagram Logo
Notice of Privacy Practices